One Fatal Mistake

Item request has been placed! ×
Item request cannot be made. ×
loading   Processing Request
Share on Goodreads
  • Author(s): Tom Hunt
  • Publication Information:
    [N.p.] : Berkley. 2019
  • Additional Information
    • Publication Type:
      eBook.
    • Abstract:
      The author of Killer Choice, a thriller'full of shocks and twists you won't see coming'(Lee Child), delivers another nail-biting novel about a hit-and-run and a lie that goes horribly wrong.Her son accidentally kills a man.They cover it up.Then everything goes wrong.When eighteen-year-old Joshua Mayo takes a man's life in a terrible accident, he leaves the scene without reporting the crime to the police. He hopes to put the awful night behind him and move on with his life. But, of course, he ends up telling his mother, Karen, what happened.Karen has raised Joshua on her own in Cedar Rapids, Iowa--and she'd thought they'd finally made it. He was doing well in school and was only months away from starting college at his dream school. After hearing his dark confession, she's forced to make a choice no parent should have to make. A choice that draws them both into a web of deceit that will change their lives forever--if they can make it out alive.
    • Subject Terms:
    • Related ISBNs:
      9780399586439. 9780399586446.
    • Accession Number:
      1806138
    • Publication Information:
      Print/Save 0 pages
      Copy/Paste Restricted
  • Citations
    • ABNT:
      TOM HUNT. One Fatal Mistake. [N.p.]: Berkley, 2019. ISBN 9780399586439. Disponível em: http://widgets.ebscohost.com/prod/customlink/proxify/proxify.php?count=1&encode=0&proxy=&find_1=&replace_1=&target=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=edsebk&AN=1806138&authtype=sso&custid=s5834912. Acesso em: 27 fev. 2020.
    • AMA:
      Tom Hunt. One Fatal Mistake. [N.p.]: Berkley; 2019. http://widgets.ebscohost.com/prod/customlink/proxify/proxify.php?count=1&encode=0&proxy=&find_1=&replace_1=&target=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=edsebk&AN=1806138&authtype=sso&custid=s5834912. Accessed February 27, 2020.
    • APA:
      Tom Hunt. (2019). One Fatal Mistake. Berkley.
    • Chicago/Turabian: Author-Date:
      Tom Hunt. 2019. One Fatal Mistake. [N.p.]: Berkley. http://widgets.ebscohost.com/prod/customlink/proxify/proxify.php?count=1&encode=0&proxy=&find_1=&replace_1=&target=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=edsebk&AN=1806138&authtype=sso&custid=s5834912.
    • Harvard:
      Tom Hunt (2019) One Fatal Mistake. [N.p.]: Berkley. Available at: http://widgets.ebscohost.com/prod/customlink/proxify/proxify.php?count=1&encode=0&proxy=&find_1=&replace_1=&target=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=edsebk&AN=1806138&authtype=sso&custid=s5834912 (Accessed: 27 February 2020).
    • Harvard: Australian:
      Tom Hunt 2019, One Fatal Mistake, Berkley, [N.p.], viewed 27 February 2020, .
    • MLA:
      Tom Hunt. One Fatal Mistake. Berkley, 2019. EBSCOhost, widgets.ebscohost.com/prod/customlink/proxify/proxify.php?count=1&encode=0&proxy=&find_1=&replace_1=&target=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=edsebk&AN=1806138&authtype=sso&custid=s5834912.
    • Chicago/Turabian: Humanities:
      Tom Hunt. One Fatal Mistake. [N.p.]: Berkley, 2019. http://widgets.ebscohost.com/prod/customlink/proxify/proxify.php?count=1&encode=0&proxy=&find_1=&replace_1=&target=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=edsebk&AN=1806138&authtype=sso&custid=s5834912.
    • Vancouver/ICMJE:
      Tom Hunt. One Fatal Mistake [Internet]. [N.p.]: Berkley; 2019 [cited 2020 Feb 27]. Available from: http://widgets.ebscohost.com/prod/customlink/proxify/proxify.php?count=1&encode=0&proxy=&find_1=&replace_1=&target=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=edsebk&AN=1806138&authtype=sso&custid=s5834912

Reviews

Booklist Reviews 2018 December #1

Hunt's first novel, Killer Choice (2018), featured a man who goes to extreme lengths to save his wife, and this time Hunt's protagonist is a mother who finds out how far she will go to protect her son. A series of extremely unfortunate events follows when 18-year-old Joshua Mayo takes a man's life and flees the scene. His bashed-up car makes his mother, Karen, suspicious, and when he confesses, she and Joshua head out to the scene of the crime, where they are taken hostage by bank robbers on the run. The odds of the robbers intersecting with Karen and Joshua in such a remote location are slim, but Hunt's careful pacing and plotting somehow make it all seem quite plausible. Joshua is a young man on a roller coaster of emotion, and Karen is a woman with bottomless empathy who is nevertheless being gradually hardened by coldhearted killers; although, as the story of each character is fully revealed, readers may find it difficult to be too judgmental. Recommended for fans of nail-biters in the tradition of Lee Child and Harlan Coben. Copyright 2018 Booklist Reviews.

PW Reviews 2018 November #4

A fatal accident kicks off a horrifying chain of events in this fast-paced thriller from Hunt (Killer Choice). After 18-year-old Joshua Mayo hits and kills a man with his car in a remote area outside Cedar Rapids, Iowa, he flees the scene, but he later tells his mother, Karen, about his crime. Before Karen can decide what to do, Amber Youngblood and her husband, Ross, bank robbers on the run who have double-crossed Ross's volatile brother, Shane, try to steal Karen's car. When Joshua and Karen try to escape the Youngbloods, Amber is shot in the scuffle. Ross orders Karen, an intensive care nurse, to take Amber to the hospital, but keeps Joshua as a hostage. Karen will do anything to keep Joshua safe, even if it means playing a dangerous cat-and-mouse game with Ross. Hunt tackles questions of morality and family loyalty along the way to the exciting finale, and Shane is a truly terrifying villain. Readers who don't mind some predictable action will find plenty to enjoy. Agent: Laney Katz Becker, Massie & McQuilkin. (Jan.)

Copyright 2018 Publishers Weekly.